Cakes, Cookies, Cream Cheese & Chocolate Mocha Frosting – Up To My Elbows!


Our Cake Tasting Event to benefit “Relay For Life” is almost upon us, another three (3) days to be exact. My sister, Ellen and I have so much to do. We each are baking 15 cakes. Oh, did I mention they are all made from scratch? Red Velvet with Cream Cheese Frosting, Carrot/Pecan with Cream Cheese Frosting, Chocolate with Chocolate Mocha Buttercream, Fresh Apple Bundt, Lemon Pound and Plain Pound.

Yesterday, I was up to my elbows making cream cheese frosting. After 6 lbs. of cream cheese, 3 cups of shortening, 15 lbs. powdered sugar, vanilla and salt, I ended up with approximately 25 lbs. of frosting. Then on to peeling and grating 5 lbs of carrots.

Last night and today, I was up to my elbows again making chocolate mocha buttercream, And after lots of buttercream, chocolate, and mocha, I ended up with approximately 25 lbs. of this frosting.

And the saga does not end here, I was crazy enough to take an order for 3 dozen cookies, decorated and packaged individually, of course.

I also took a Wilton’s class today. I need some caffiene right now. Maybe I should just eat some chocolate mocha buttercream!

Now on to setting up my slideshow for the event, printing labels for the take-out cake boxes, answering e-mails, and on, and on, and on! Oh yeah, and posting on my blog to keep you, my followers, up-to-date on my latest activities.

Posted on April 13, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

