What Are Beyblades?


This cake was made for my granddaughter’s 11th birthday celebration at Dave & Busters. She wanted this Aires Beyblade. What — what is a beyblade? There are so many different toys out now for children, I can’t keep up. If it wasn’t for my granddaughter telling me what these different toys are, I would be completely in the dark.

Anyway, she requested a red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting (she just discovered that she loves red velvet), covered with MM Fondant. The other object (don’t know what it’s called) is made from modeling chocolate. The picture on top is an edible print.

I should have taken a picture of the components that I used to mount this cake on the board. I used a piping flange glued to a board, then inserted a dowel cut to the height that I needed to raise the cake up. On top of that, I cut 2 more boards that resembled a blade (similar to a ceiling fan blade). These were glued together and screwed to the dowel. The cake was placed on a foam board and then a cake board and mounted on top of the blade.

You can be sure when I arrived with the cake and gave her the top back that I had borrowed to go by, she immediately checked the cake to make sure it was exactly like the toy. I passed the test! Whew!

Posted on May 14, 2011, in Birthdays, Blog Posts, Children and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

