How I Spent My Birthday – Work or Play?


I forgot to schedule a birthday play day for myself this week. I took 3 cake orders. What was I thinking? So my day was spent making and decorating cakes. Someone mentioned on Facebook that they were waiting to see the cake that I made for myself. I didn’t have the time to even think about a cake for me.

My family and closest friends surprised me by celebrating my birthday on Sunday in Newport News @ Cheddars. I love that place — I always get the Philly Cheese Steak with Fries and of course their Pain Killer drink. Lovely combination, I must say (smiles).

My sister presented me with a beautiful bouquet of cupcakes (my favorite flavor of cake – Hawaiian Bliss, pineapple filling with a wonderful tasting coconut frosting). They were arranged in an 8 oz. measuring cup including stainless steel measuring spoons with a note that read:

If we could pick a flower for each thought we have of you,
Our lives would be an endless garden.”
 

Apprarently there was supposed to be another measuring bowl, but somehow during the course of delivery by her husband, it was broken. What difference does it make, it’s always the thought that counts. I was so excited that I forgot to take a picture.

My other gifts from my sister, daughters, granddaughters, friends and my significant other included a Pandor’s charm, a Chef’s Gel Mat, more stainless steel measuring spoons, stainless steel measuring cups, silicone heat resistant mitt, gift certificate coupon to either Sur La Table or Wine and Cake Decorating Hobbies, flip flops, sundress, a set of mats for my Cricut machine (my other hobby – Screenprinting), and of course money and an investment in a van for my deliveries.

On yesterday, my Son-In-Law fixed dinner for me and was delivered to me by my daughter, who then took me to Sweet Frog for dessert (non-fattening of course — before the toppings).

I am so blessed to have family and friends who loves me in spite of my faults, and I have a few.

Also, thanks to all of my friends on Facebook who took the time to wish me a Happy Birthday, as well.

Love You All and God Bless

Posted on May 27, 2011, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

